提高您成功率的投注策略

关于投注策略的简要介绍将奠定您投注成功率更高的基础。

我们首先要弄清楚一件事情:这世上不存在什么体育博彩魔法指南。即便是经验最丰富,最备受推崇的投注者,并且能够接触到最内幕的消息以及最详尽的历史记录,也无法保证逢赌必赢。然而,让自己的投注更聪明、更有利可图的方法还是有的。这个简单的指南可以为赌场新手提供一些有用信息,提高他们的投注技巧,在许多不同体育赛事博彩活动中避免傻瓜投注,赌得更加有信心。

一般性意见

下列意见适用于任何形式的体育博彩,也对每一名投注者都有用,无论您的经验级别如何。

理解价值

说到体育博彩,很重要的一点是要明白价值的概念。很多赌场新手常常在这个方面摔跟头。

比如说有一支您非常了解的队伍——您很多年来一直在观看他们的比赛并且知道他们的获胜率为60%左右。假如在一场即将举行的比赛中,庄家开出了您熟悉的这支队伍获胜的赔率为2/1,这就是说他们的获胜率为33%(转换成百分比的话)。假如您接受这个赌注,那么您将获得27%的感知价值(Perceived Value)((60% - 33%)。

这一点大体上是非常简单的,但是想要始终如一地发现参赛者的真实价值是非常难的,而且(很明显地)有赖于您自己对于概率的评估分析。因此,随着您了解到更多信息,您自己进行评估的准确度也将随之提高。

这将很好地将我们带进下一个阶段……

深入研究:了解您所参与的游戏

这一点再怎么强调都不嫌过分。作为一名博彩玩家,对于任何给定赛事的胜负概率有一个全面的评估真的是至关重要的。

博彩公司提供的胜率并不代表真正的概率。反之,它更多地是代表着庄家对于大众将如何投注的一种预期;他们往往被设计为能够为胜负双方都吸引到尽可能多的投注,这样就能够平衡他们的负债,并且保证有源源不断的佣金收入。

假如您对于哪一个参赛者是更强的选项有着更加深入的了解的话, 您就能分辨出哪一边的赔率才更加具有竞争力。了解这些在一些重大的国际性赛事中将会给您带来非常可观的收获。

获得更高层次的投注智慧是需要下苦功的。每天晚上打开Sky体育频道虽然是一个不错的开始,但是还远远不够。Patrick Veitch通过花费大量的时间在观看研究比赛录像和统计数字上,并和马厩那边建立起有用的联系,才让自己对于赛马有着非凡的洞察力。

虽然您并不一定要做到这种程度,不过Veitch的努力说明了要成为世界级的玩家是需要像他那种程度的专注的。

通过阅读取得成功!

市面上有一些非凡的书是可以帮助您极大地提高自己的投注技巧的。假如您真的想要让自己的技巧更上一层楼的话,我们肯定要建议您做一些功课!.

下面是我们推荐的一些书,可以在睡觉前稍微看一下:

sportsbetting_book1

《头号敌人》:

英国最惧怕的专业玩家的获胜秘诀

作者:Patrick Veitch

马上购买!

sportsbetting_book2

《体育套利》:

无风险投资

作者:George Lynham

马上购买!

sportsbetting_book3

《赛事、体育运动与博彩中的数学》:

人玩的比赛

作者:Ronald J. Gould

马上购买!

 

sportsbetting_book4

《体育投资》:

从分数差中获利

作者:Daniel Fabrizio & Joseph Hunter

马上购买!

sportsbetting_book5

《比分预测》:

体育赛事输赢背后的隐秘影响因素

作者:Tobias J. Moskowits & L, Jon Wertheim

马上购买!

用回归分析法进行预测

虽然这个世界上的投注方法就跟这个世界上的投注者一样数不胜数,唯一有着可靠的数学计算作为基础并广受认可的预测方法却只有一个,就是“回归分析法”。

这种统计技术旨在判断各种变量之间的关系。基于体育赛事包含了好几千个不同变量,涉及到复杂的数学计算,因此,回归分析法并不是完美的。不过,它还是被大多数人认为是判断套利过程中实现投注最优化的最可靠办法。

回归分析法还可细分为三种不同的方法:

多元回归分析法

这是迄今为止传播最为广泛的回归分析法。它假设“过去为未来之序幕”,意思就是投注者应该回顾过去以预测未来之结果。

下面是这个系统发生作用的一个例子:

有两支足球队之间正在进行一场比赛。投注者已经获取到下列数据:

  • 在当年的第一场比赛中,A队以3-1比分战胜了B队。
  • 在最近的一场比赛中,B队以大比分战胜了A队。
  • A队中有一名队员(队员1)从未在赢得B队的比赛中出场过。

由于两队都有过获胜的记录,因此关键的变量就在于队员1的出场与否,意味着假如队员1出场的话,B队在正面对抗赛中获胜的几率就更大。很显然,如果您还要将诸如主场优势、队员伤病与停赛等其他变量也考虑进来的话,您将得到一个更加复杂精确的概率模型。

这种方法的缺点在于“相关性意味着因果关系”本身可能就是错误的。简而言之,队员1从未在赢得B队的比赛中出场过,并不意味着他就是导致A队战败的直接原因。

逻辑回归分析法

这种预测技术旨在对参赛者之间的“胜利系数(MV)”进行比较,也就是在一个给定事件中获胜者与失败者之间可能存在的得分差距。

投注者必须先对参赛者的历史战绩进行分析以判断他们在最近的比赛中各自的平均胜利系数。然后将这两个数字相减以得出两队在即将开始的比赛中的预期胜利系数:胜利系数小的话意味着可能是一场势均力敌的比赛,胜利系数大的话则意味着将会有一个明显的获胜者。

多元线性回归分析法

这是迄今为止最复杂的一种回归分析法。这种分析法涉及到对大量的数据中的多个变量进行评估,从而找出某一事件结果最重要的特征。

例如,由美国国家橄榄球联盟(NFL)发起的一项多元分析得出结论:传球效率是影响全美橄榄球联赛比赛结果的最重要因素。因此,在其他条件相同的情况下,投注者应该下注在历史传球效率较高的球队身上。

遗憾的是,这种统计模型过于复杂,大多数业余爱好者根本无法尝试,因为它需要非常庞大的数据量以及高等数学方面的知识。

匹配下注

匹配下注是一种优势博彩法,它通过利用网上博彩公司提供的免费赌金来获取小额但持续的利润。这种优势博彩法是完全合法的,尽管有些博彩公司对这种方法并不赞成(因此不要过于频繁地在同一家博彩公司尝试这种方法!)

博弈庄家会定期进行促销,向投注者提供免费注金,如:“下注50镑即可获得50镑免费注金!”您的目标是通过抵消您自己投的50镑注金的风险,并赢取庄家提供的免费注金。通过以同样的赔率对选中对象“押赢”或“押不赢”即可达到这个目的。

正如我们在第一课中解释过的那样,匹配下注允许投注者下注在与给出结果相反的结果上,这就叫对选中对象“押不赢”。

想象一下,有两支足球队(A队与B队)将进行一场比赛。Paddy Power提供了3赔1的赔率赌A队赢。您可以接受这个赔率押50镑赌A队赢。 

然后您再到匹配下注处以同样3赔1的赔率押A队不赢。这样一来,无论比赛结果如何,您的两次投注将会相互抵消,但是您可以获得由Paddy Power提供的50镑免费注金(尽管由于赔率之间有着细微的差别,在加上兑现时收取的佣金费,您兑现后所拿到的只能略少于足额注金)。

风险与局限性

虽然这个方法是一个只要不是傻瓜就能赚钱的办法,不过那些博弈庄家也并不笨,他们也会采取措施,防止他人用此类优势博彩法占自己的便宜。

首先,务必要认真查看相关条款与条件。例如,博彩公司可能会要求您只能对比赛中第一个进球者下注才能够获取免费注金,而不是简单地买哪支球队获胜就行。这样就能防止您既买某支球队赢又同时买它输以相互抵消自己的投注风险。

在某些球赛中(比如足球比赛),比赛结果并非总是非输即赢,因而投注风险更高。假如比赛最终结果是平局呢,又或者进入点球大战呢?基于这个原因,匹配下注更适用于赛马或赛车之类的比赛(不过,同样地,您的投注对象仍然是有可能输的)。

假如您想尝试一下匹配下注的话, 记得将这些因素都考虑进去。

资金管理:凯利标准

无论是哪一种博彩形式,您都必须先留出一笔就算输掉也无所谓的资金。在本页中,您可以找到关于如何管理您的资金的一些信息。

体育博彩中最广为流传且最复杂的资金管理方法被称为“凯利标准”,以其创立者爱德华L·凯利的名字命名,当时他是针对纯种马赛马比赛而想出这个方法的(尽管这个方法适用于所有类型的博彩活动)。

凯利标准主要基于一个公式,通过这个公式可以得出对某一事件进行投注时最理智的投注资金比例是多少。凯利标准的基本原则如下:

  • 将投注对象的赔率乘以获胜几率。
  • 将上一步得出的结果扣掉失败几率。
  • 将上一步得出的数字除以赔率。

公式如下:

Kelly % = W – [(1 – W) / R]

上述公式中:

W = 获胜概率

R = /负比

下面我们来看一个例子……

假设我们下注在一支足球队上押它赢。我们已经判断出这个押注对象获胜的概率是48%左右。博弈庄家开出的赔率是3/1 (4.0),因此,我们将这两个数字相乘。

0.48 x 4.0 = 1.92

 48%的获胜几率也就意味着失败的几率为52%,因此我们将这个数字扣掉……

1.92 – 0.52 = 1.4

最后,我们将这个数字除以赔率……

1.4 ÷ 4.0 = 0.35

这个数字取整的话是40%,意思就是凯利标准建议将40%的资金压在这个投注对象上。

凯利标准的魅力在于它能够优化您的长期支出,即便赔率对您是不利的(正如在上面的例子中一样)。由于从来没有人能够担保您一定能够获利——毕竟,这个方法有赖于精确的概率评估——不过,凯利标准还是为您的资金管理提供了一个坚实的基础。

对不同体育比赛进行投注

体育博彩的复杂性源自于每一项体育运动需要一个不同的方法这一事实。我们在下面列出了对一些最受欢迎的体育比赛进行投注的相关信息与小窍门:

足球

  • 投注是基于按计划安排的90分钟比赛(包括任何伤停补时)结束之后的结果进行的。加时赛和点球大战的时间不计入通常的三种投注方式(即直接对一场比赛将以胜/负/平结束进行投注)……
  • ……不过,如果您押某个投注对象将在整个联赛结束时“获得奖杯”,那么如果您选中的对象成为最终的赢家,您也将获得彩金。
  • 在多重彩中,博弈庄家的佣金是成倍增加的,这将很大程度上降低他们对于玩家的价值。

赛马

  • 找到对“独赢”注提供“保证最佳赔率”的博弈庄家,这样无论临盘赔赔率是多少,您都能够赢得比较理想的彩金。
  • 尽量避免彩池投注,因为它为彩池操手提供了很大的利润空间,除非是位置连赢/累积奖金投注,您必须在一张卡上选中六场比赛的获胜者。在一些重大赛事中,这种“累积奖金”彩池可能为那些聪明的玩家带来丰厚的回报。
  • 对早餐盘投注应特别小心,因为您永远无法保证您的投注对象在比赛当天是否会露面,更别提能否赢得比赛了。

网球

  • 博弈庄家经常对网球联赛提供“独赢与位置”投注,如果您投注的对象获得名次的话,也是可以赢得彩金的。记住,对战表示通过抽签来决定的,因此有可能出现两强之间陷入苦战,而一些实力稍逊的队伍却像搭顺风车般轻松杀入前几名的情况,所以记得在抽签结果宣布之后再进行投注。
  • 作为一项单人运动,在网球比赛中,您看好的选手的身体条件与状态是非常重要的。要将您看好的选手的健康情况、年龄、近期表现以及与即将对战的对手之间的历史战绩等因素考虑在内。此外,在网球比赛中是没有“平局”这种结果的,而且对热门选手开出的赔率是非常低的。
  • 不要忘了,您可以对网球赛整场比赛也可以对每一局进行投注,这也能够为比较晚涉足这一领域的玩家和资深玩家带来一些很好的获利机会。

美式橄榄球

  • 对美式橄榄球进行投注的最流行方式是让分投注。然而,大多数被庄家调整之后的赔率是让您的让分投注赢得概率维持在大约52%左右,尽量做让不输不赢。
  • 了解关键数字:全美橄榄球联盟(NFL)比赛中获胜队伍最常见的领先比分情况如下(按发生次数从多到少排列依次为:3分,7分和10分)。这在让分投注中是一个非常重要的信息。鉴于将近有三分之一的比赛是以这样的比分领先情况结束的,当您进行让分投注时,切记将这一点作为一个要素考虑进去。
  • 在全美橄榄球联盟(NFL)主场优势大约是在3份,意思是说,假如一支队伍主场作战开出的赔率为让3分的话,说明博弈庄家认为客场队伍与主场队伍的实力相当。

棒球

  • “一对一”投注是最流行的棒球比赛投注方式,也就是对其中一支队伍进行独赢投注。然而,即便是大联盟中最差的队伍在一个赛季中也有将近40%的比赛是获胜的,而最好的队伍的胜率也只有60%左右,但是却还是能够名列前茅。这一点让单场比赛投注变得难以预测,也让那些聪明的投注者避免在机会几乎相等的情况下进行投注。
  • 将投手的状态考虑进来:这是关系到一支队伍能否赢得比赛的最重要的位置。分析投手近期的状态,并将这一点作为挑选投注对象的最重要因素。
  • 赛季投注可能是没有经验的新投注者一个很好的投注平台,而更多有信心的玩家会选择对跑垒得分数进行投注——这是一种让分投注,下注时其中一支队伍让另一支队伍1.5分。要点就是您看中的队伍必须至少赢2个跑垒得分数,而冷门队伍必须输至少1个跑垒得分,您的投注才能赢得彩金。

冰球

  • 对进球数进行投注(Betting on the Puck Line)类似于棒球赛中对跑垒得分数进行投注(Betting on Run Lines)一样。一直以来,这就是一种风险较高的投注方式,因此只有那些熟知这方面知识的玩家才能去尝试。新手还是坚持独赢投注就好了。
  • 追踪一下哪一支队伍在集中攻势过程(就是受罚队伍将在受罚局期间少一个人进行比赛)中表现更好。集中攻势是国家冰球联盟(NHL)比赛的重要组成部分,因此不要小看这个统计数据。
  • 不要过于看重平均进球数——相反地,要注意进球发生率。一支队伍是连续进球呢或者它们的进球是某几场比赛呢?

篮球

  • 无论是NBA还是大学篮球联赛,对于冷门队伍的偏爱都是非常明显的。在NBA过去10个赛季里,在外比赛的冷门队伍在53%的比赛中战胜了他们的不利条件。虽然他们不是直接赢得比赛,但是让分却常常对他们更有利。
  • 同样地,热门队伍在让分比赛中获胜的概率相对较低。因此,假如您对热门队伍进行投注的话,一定要坚持一对一投注。
  • 在篮球比赛中,对总得分进行投注也是一个不错的获利方式,不过前提是您必须对球队的表现有着全面的了解。不要孤立地看短期内的平均得分,而要将这个数据与发生次数结合起来看,也就是说,要看您看好的队伍在几场比赛中取得高于或低于短期平均得分的分数。

拳击

  • 拳击比赛必须在预定时间7天之内开赛,投注才算有效。烦人地是,假如比赛被推迟或另行安排时间的话,您也可能输钱。
  • 此外,假如原定的回合数在铃响之后任意时刻被临时更改的话,所有投注将被取消。
  • 往好的方面看的话,假如您选中的选手通过击倒对方、技术击倒或对方被取消资格而获胜的话,所有KO投注都算赢。

英式橄榄球

  • 英式橄榄球投注市场经常是两极分化。有可能热门队伍的赔率非常低,也有可能一大堆人全部一边倒地押同一边,具体视比赛的竞争性而定。因此,英式橄榄球中的独赢投注常常价值较低。
  • 场地大小很大程度上影响队伍的表现。比较小的场地会导致拥挤,限制球员的创造力,也就意味着总体的尝试得分机会更少。假如您是对正常比赛比分进行投注的话一定要记住这一点。
  • 由于英国国内的橄榄球赛每周都有,和国际队伍比起来,他们看起来状态更好。因此,您应该瞄准国际队伍的获胜概率更低。

板球

  • 天气与场地条件在板球比赛中是非常重要的变量,因为即便是非常细微的变化都能够引发巨大的影响(光线不好或雨天甚至会取消比赛)。在投注方面,要知道球在干燥晴朗的天气比较不会偏离——这一点对于击球方有利,而潮湿的天气条件将会让球变得更滑,给击球方造成更大的障碍。
  • 将球队在每个场地的平均第一轮得分考虑进来,并将这个数字作为一个要素列入投注选项中。
  • 板球是一个流行范围相对较小的博彩市场,但是由于有着大量的统计数据,因此甚至连一些赌场新手也可以参与到实际的体育博彩中。

最适合您测验自己体育博彩投注技巧的体育博彩公司!

到我们推荐的博彩公司测验一下自己新学到的投注技巧。

奖励 设备 分数 信息与访问
$300
桌面
平板电脑
移动
86
注册加入 阅读更多
£500
桌面
平板电脑
移动
83
注册加入 阅读更多
$59
桌面
平板电脑
移动
60
注册加入 阅读更多

Betting strategy to boost your success

A brief introduction to betting strategy will give you the groundwork for betting better.

Let’s get one thing clear: there is no magic guide to sports betting. Even the most experienced and respected bettors, with privileged access to insider knowledge and great track records, cannot be assured of a return on every wager. However, there are ways of betting intelligently and profitably. This simple guide will offer solid tips to help novice bettors advance their play, avoid chump bets and gamble more confidently on a variety of sports.

General advice

The following tips apply to all forms of sports betting and are relevant to every bettor, irrespective of your experience level.

Understanding value

When it comes to sports betting, it is critical to understand the concept of value. This is where a lot of newcomers fall down.

Consider a team that you know well – you’ve watched them play over the course of many years and they win 60% of the time. If a bookmaker is offering 2/1 odds on your team to win an upcoming match, this implies they have a 33% chance (converted to a percentage). If you take this bet, you receive 27% perceived value (60% - 33%).

This is simple enough in principle, but consistently spotting value is extremely tricky and (obviously) relies on your own probability assessment. Therefore, the accuracy of your evaluations will improve as you become more knowledgeable.

Which leads us nicely into ...

Do your research: know your game

We cannot stress this point enough. It is crucial that you, as a bettor, have an informed assessment of the odds in any given event.

Bookmaker odds are NOT representative of true probability. Rather, they reflect the bookies’ expectation of how the public will bet; they are designed to attract bets on either side of the odds, thus balancing liability and guaranteeing a healthy commission.

If you have a more informed opinion of which participant is a strong selection, then you will be able to identify competitive odds. This can be particularly fruitful in the case of major, international events.

Acquiring a good level of betting acumen requires graft. Tuning in to Sky Sports every night – while a decent start – is not enough. Patrick Veitch developed an edge at the races by pouring over hours over race videos and statistics, as well as forging useful contacts at the stables.

While you don’t necessarily have to go to these lengths, Veitch’s efforts demonstrate the level of commitment required to become a truly world-class punter.

Read and succeed!

There are some phenomenal books on the market that can help improve your betting immeasurably. We’d definitely advise doing your homework if you’re serious about taking your skills to the next level.

Here are our recommendations for a spot of bedtime reading:

sports betting book 1

Enemy Number One:

The secrets of the UK's most feared professional punter

by: Patrick Veitch

Buy Now!
sports betting book 2

Sports Arbitrage:

Riskless investment

by: George Lynham

Buy Now!
sports betting book 3

Mathematics in Games, Sports and Gambling:

The Games People Play

by: Ronald J. Gould

Buy Now!
sports betting book 4

Sports Investing:

Profiting from Point Spreads

by: Daniel Fabrizio & Joseph Hunter

Buy Now!
sports betting book 5

Scorecasting:

The hidden influences behind how sports are played and games are won

by: Tobias J. Moskowits & L, Jon Wertheim

Buy Now!

Forecasting with regression analysis

While there are almost as many betting systems as there are bettors, the only widely respected forecasting method with sound mathematical grounding is known as ‘regression analysis.’

This statistical technique attempts to estimate relationships between variables. Regression analysis is not perfect, due to the mathematically complex nature of sporting events, which contain many thousands of variables. However, it is widely considered the most reliable approach to betting optimisation in arbitrage.

Regression analysis is subdivided into three different approaches:

Multiple regression analysis

This is by far the most popular form of regression analysis. It operates on the assumption that ‘what’s past is prologue,’ meaning that a bettor should look to the past to predict future results.

Here’s an example of this system in action:

There is a football match occurring between two teams. The bettor has acquired the following data:

  • Team A beat Team B 3-1 during the first match of the year.
  • Team B defeated Team A by a wide margin in a more recent match.
  • A player for Team A (Player 1) has never played in a win against Team B.

As both teams have recorded a victory, the key variable is the presence of Player 1, suggesting that Team B is likely to win in a direct match-up if Player 1 is present. Obviously, if you were to factor in other variables such as home advantage, player injuries and suspensions you would have an even more refined statistical model.

The weakness of this approach is the potential fallacy of ‘correlation implying causation'. In short, just because Player 1 has never played in a winning match against Team B, it does not mean that he caused the defeat directly.

Logistic regression analysis

This forecasting technique aims to compare a ‘Margin of Victory’ (MV) between participants, i.e., the probable point difference between the winner and loser in a given event.

Bettors should begin by analysing participants’ play history to determine their individual, average MV across recent matches. These figures are then subtracted to produce the expected MV in a match-up: a low MV implies a close match, whereas a high MV suggests there will be a clear victor.

Multivariate linear regression analysis

By far the most complicated form of regression analysis. This involves assessing multiple variables across a wide pool of data to identify the most important features in the outcome of an event.

For instance, a multivariate analysis by the NFL concluded that passing efficiency was the most influential factor in the outcome of American football matches. Therefore, all things being equal, bettors should always gamble on teams with a better history of passing efficiency.

Unfortunately, this kind of statistical modelling is far too complex for most amateurs to attempt, requiring vast pools of data and advanced mathematics.

Matched betting

Matched betting is a form of advantage gambling that exploits promotional offers at online bookmakers in order to eke out small, consistent profits. This kind of advantage play is totally legal, although it is frowned upon by some bookmakers (so don’t try it too often with the same company!)

Bookies regularly advertise free bets to punters, e.g. ‘receive £50 free if you place a £50 bet!’ Your objective is to collect the full value of the free bet by cancelling out the risk of your £50 wager. This is achieved by ‘backing’ and ‘laying’ a selection at the same odds.

As we explained in lesson one, betting exchanges allow bettors to wager ‘against’ a given outcome, this is called ‘laying’ the selection.

Imagine there was a match between two football teams (Team A and Team B). Paddy Power is offering 3/1 odds on Team A to win. You take these odds and back Team A for £50.

You would then go to a betting exchange and lay the same outcome at the same odds (3/1). Therefore, no matter what the outcome of the match, your two bets will each other cancel out and you will receive the £50 free bet offered by Paddy Power (although, due to minute differences in the odds and given the exchange’s commission, you will cash out slightly less than the full amount).

Risks and limitations

While this would seem to be a fool-proof money-making method, bookies aren’t stupid and take measures to protect themselves against this kind of advantage play.

Firstly, be sure to check the terms and conditions. The bookmaker might – for instance – require you to bet on the first goalscorer in a match rather than simply backing the winner in order to qualify for the free bet. This prevents you from creating the binary you need to neutralise the odds.

In certain games (such as football), there is a higher risk that you will not end up with a simple win/lose outcome. What if the match ends in a draw, or if the game goes to penalties? For this reason, matched betting is better suited to racing (although, again, there is always the chance your selection could fall).

Bear these considerations in mind if you want to attempt matched betting.

Money management: Kelly Criterion

As with every form of gambling, your first step should be to set aside a bankroll that you can comfortably afford to lose. You can find for information about managing your bankroll on this page.

The most popular and sophisticated form of money management in sports betting is known as the ‘Kelly Criterion’, named for Edward L. Kelly, who developed the method with thoroughbred horse racing in mind (although it is applicable to all types of gambling).

The Kelly Criterion is based on a formula that offers the most sensible percentage of a bankroll to wager on an event. The basic principles of the Kelly Criterion are as follows:

  • Multiply the odds offered on a selection by the probability of winning.
  • Subtract the probability of losing from the resulting figure.
  • Divide this number by the odds.

The formula looks like this:

Kelly % = W – [(1 – W) / R]

Where:

W = Winning probability

R = Win/loss ratio

So let’s consider an example...

Assume that we are placing a bet on a football team to win. We have determined that the probability of this selection winning is around 48%. A bookmaker is offering odds of 3/1 (4.0), so we multiply these figures together:

0.48 x 4.0 = 1.92

A 48% chance of winning also means a 52% chance of losing, so we subtract this number...

1.92 – 0.52 = 1.4

Finally, we divide this number by the odds…

1.4 ÷ 4.0 = 0.35

This is rounded up to 40%, meaning the Kelly Criterion recommends betting 40% of our bankroll on this selection.

The beauty of the Kelly Criterion is that is can optimise your long term spend, even when the odds are against you (as in the example above). While you are never guaranteed a profit – after all, this method depends on accurate probability assessments – the Kelly Criterion provides a solid foundation for managing your money.

Betting on different sports

Much of the complexity of sports betting stems from the fact that every sport requires a different approach. We have listed some info and tips for betting on the most popular sporting events:

Football

  • Bets are based on the results at the end of 90 minutes scheduled play, including any added injury or stoppage time. Extra-time and penalties do not count in normal three-way bets (i.e. straight bets on a match ending in a win/loss/draw)...
  • ... however, if you bet on a selection ‘lifting the trophy’ at the end of a tournament, you will collect if your pick is the overall winner.
  • A bookmaker’s commission is multiplied across accumulators, which decreases their total value to the bettor substantially.

Racing

  • Seek out bookmakers offering ‘best odds guaranteed’ on win-only bets, where you receive the most favourable dividend irrespective of the starting price.
  • Avoid pool betting as it provides a high profit margin for the pool operator – except in the cases of placepot/jackpot bets, where you must make a winning selection of six races on a single card. At a major festival, these ‘jackpot’ pools can provide a nice pay-out to smart punters.
  • Beware of antepost betting as you can never guarantee that your selection will even turn up on the day of an event, let alone win.

Tennis

  • Bookmakers usually offer each-way bets on tennis tournaments, paying a return if your favourite places. Remember, pairings are determined by a draw, making it possible for good players to struggle and weaker players to enjoy an easy ride. Wait for the draws to be announced before making your bets.
  • As an individual sport, the condition and form of your favourite is paramount in tennis. Consider your player’s health, age, recent performance and track record against their selected opponents. Also, as there are no ‘draw’ results in tennis, odds on favourites are very low.
  • Don’t forget, you can bet on games AND sets in tennis, which could provide a few excellent opportunities with late starters or early-bloomers.

American football

  • The most popular form of betting on American football is spread betting. However, the adjusted odds offered by most bookmakers mean you would have to win around 52% of your total spread bets to break even.
  • Know your key numbers: these are the most common winning margins of NFL games (in order of occurrence: 3 points, 7 points and 10 points). This is very important information in spread betting. Given that nearly a third of games finish on these margins, you should factor them in when placing spread bets.
  • The home field advantage in the NFL is 3 points, meaning that if a team is playing at home with a spread of -3 it means the bookmaker considers the competing teams to be evenly matched.

Baseball

  • ‘Head to head’ is the most popular betting format in baseball, i.e. a win only bet on one team. However, even the worst teams in major leagues tend to win around 40% of games in a season, while the best can win only 60% and still come out on top. This can make game to game betting unpredictable, leading smart bettors to avoid gambling at short odds.
  • Consider the pitcher: this is one of the most critical positions in determining a team’s chance of victory. Analyse the pitchers’ recent form and make this a major factor in picking your selection.
  • Season bets can be an excellent gateway to inexperienced bettors, while more confident gamblers can bet on run lines – a form of spread betting in which one team receives a -1.5 handicap and the other a +1.5 handicap. The upshot is that your favourite must win by at least 2 runs and the underdog must lose by 1 run for you to see a return.

Ice Hockey

  • Betting on the puck line is analogous to betting on run lines in baseball. As ever, it’s a risky form of betting that should only be attempted by knowledgeable punters. Newcomers should stick to win-only wagers.
  • Keep track of which teams tend to perform well during power plays (during which a penalised team must play with one less man for a set time period). Power plays are a big part of NHL games, so do not overlook this statistic.
  • Don’t be beholden to goal averages – instead, look out for goal occurrences. Has a team scored consistently or have their goals been clustered around a handful of matches?

Basketball

  • There is a clear bias towards underdogs in both the NBA and college basketball. Over the past 10 NBA seasons, underdogs playing away have beaten their handicap in 53% of games. Even if they don’t win outright, the spread is often in their favour.
  • By the same token, popular teams have a comparatively low probability of covering their spread. Therefore, if you’re betting on a favourite, stick to head to head bets.
  • Betting on total points scored can be a profitable option in basketball but only if you have a very thorough understanding of a team’s performance. Don’t look at short term averages in isolation - combine them with occurrences, i.e., in how many games has your team scored above and below their short-term average?

Boxing

  • Boxing matches must begin within seven days of their scheduled time for a wager to be considered valid. Annoyingly, you can lose money if matches are delayed or rescheduled.
  • Additionally, all bets are off if the number of scheduled rounds in a match is changed at any point after the bell rings.
  • On the positive side, KO wagers pay if your chosen fighter wins by knock-out, technical knock-out or disqualification.

Rugby

  • Rugby betting markets are often polarised. There tend to be either short odds on a favourite or a tightly-packed group at the head of the market, depending on the competitiveness of the tournament. As a result, win-only bets in rugby often present a relatively low value.
  • Pitch sizes significantly impact teams’ performance. Smaller pitches cause congestion and limit creativity, meaning less chances to score tries overall. Bear this in mind if you’re betting on total match points.
  • As domestic rugby matches occur weekly, they give a better indication of form compared to international matches. Thus, you should aim for shorter odds on international matches.

Cricket

  • Weather and pitch conditions are especially important variables in cricket, as even subtle changes can exert a massive influence (matches won’t even occur in bad light or rain). In terms of betting, be aware that the ball will deviate less on a dry, sunny day – favouring batsmen, whereas damp conditions will assist the movement of the ball, hindering the batting side.
  • Consider the average first innings score at each ground and factor this figure into bet selection.
  • Cricket is a relatively niche betting market, but the wide availability of statistical data means that even novices can participate in effective sports betting.

The right sports books to test out your sports betting know-how!

Put your newfound wisdom to the test with our recommended bookmakers.

Bonus Devices Score Info & Visit
£400
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
96
Sign me up Read more
£400
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
94
Sign me up Read more
£100
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
TV
91
Sign me up Read more
£400
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
90
Sign me up Read more
£50
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
89
Sign me up Read more
£10
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
86
Sign me up Read more
£200
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
85
Sign me up Read more
£250
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
85
Sign me up Read more
£100
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
84
Sign me up Read more
£50
Desktop
Tablet
Mobile
TV
83
Sign me up Read more